MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. <u>119</u> (EC)

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio \mathbb{F} L. F. Kasperbauer Jg/\mathcal{L} E.B. Calvo \mathbb{H}

Relative to recognizing January 2006 as 'Youth Year' entitled "Youth: Our Life, Our Future" and efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs in supporting the youth.

WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs (DYA) was established in 1978 to help troubled youth progress back into the community to become better citizens through rehabilitation and treatment programs; and

WHEREAS, The Department of Youth Affairs initiated "Youth Month" better known today as "Youth Year" to guide and assist various schools to demonstrate their skills in promoting programs throughout the year for the youth; and

WHEREAS, The Department of Youth Affairs organized a Youth Central Planning Committee (CPC), with the aid of students, creating this years' theme entitled, "Youth: Our Life, Our Future;" and

WHEREAS, This year, student representatives from Notre Dame High School had the distinction of chairing the Youth Central Planning Committee through the Department of Youth Affairs; and

apon

٠



WHEREAS, The Youth Central Planning Committee consists of student representatives from the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Evangelical Christian Academy, Father Duenas Memorial School, Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Santa Barbara School, San Vicente School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul Christian School, Temple Bible School, Mt. Carmel School, Trinity Christian School, George Washington High School, Southern High School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, John F. Kennedy High School, DODEA Guam High School, Guam Community College, University of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston Middle School, Jose Rios Middle School, DODEA South Middle School, Andersen Middle School, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, Inarajan Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Oceanview Middle School, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the Guam Youth Congress, all of whom have been invaluable assets in conducting activities, including the Youth Spirit Wave, Proclamation Signing, Theme/Poster Contest, Student Exchange Program, Oratorical Contest, Talent Showcase, Youth Carnival, Community Building Project-Penny Drive, and the Island Leadership Day; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs employees recognize the importance in engaging our islands youth through activities that foster positive attitudes to improve our islands community and collective future, now therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, recognize Youth Year 2006 entitled "Youth: Our Life, Our Future" and continues to support the efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs for its involvement in supporting our islands youth; and be it further

RESOLVED, that I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, also recognizes the student advisors, parents, and student representatives through the heads of their respective schools, namely the Notre Dame High School, Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Evangelical Christian Academy, Father Duenas Memorial School, Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Santa Barbara School, San Vicente School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul Christian School, Temple Bible School, Mt. Carmel School, Trinity Christian School, George Washington High School, Southern High School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, John F. Kennedy High School, DODEA Guam High School, Guam Community College, University of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston Middle School, Jose Rios Middle School, DODEA South Middle School, Andersen Middle School, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, Inarajan Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Oceanview Middle School, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the Speaker of the Guam Youth Congress, for their contributions in the Youth Year 2006, entitled "Youth:

Our Life, Our Future" and continues to support the efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs for its involvement in supporting our islands youth; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Department of Youth Affairs, Youth Central Planning Committee, the heads the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Evangelical Christian Academy, Father Duenas Memorial School, Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Santa Barbara School, San Vicente School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul Christian School, Temple Bible School, Mt. Carmel School, Trinity Christian School, George Washington High School, Southern High School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, John F. Kennedy High School, DODEA Guam High School, Guam Community College, University of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston Middle School, Jose Rios Middle School, DODEA South Middle School, Andersen Middle School, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, Inarajan Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Oceanview Middle School, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THIS _____ DAY OF JANUARY 2006.

MARK FORBES Speaker Executive Committee Chairman EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator Secretary of the Legislature